H.S. Football Home History Scores & Schedules Teams Standings Spirit Shop

Gatorade Indiana Football Player of the Year

Since 1985, Gatorade has annually selected a Player of the Year. The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, is indicative of Indiana’s best high school football player.

The 1985 winner, Jeff George, was also named Gatorade's National Football Player of the Year, as well.

Year Player of the Year School Position
1985 Jeff George Warren Central quarterback
1986 Vaughn Dunbar Fort Wayne Snider running back
1987 Bryan Madden Indianapolis Broad Ripple tackle
1988 Rick Mirer Goshen quarterback
1989 Brett Law Sheridan running back
1990 Bob Denton Martinsville tackle/defensive end
1991 Derrick Mayes North Central (Indianapolis) wide receiver
1992 Royce Roberson East Chicago Central running back/defensive back
1993* Bo Barzilauskas Bloomington South offensive tackle
1994 Mike Rosenthal Penn offensive tackle
1995* Earl Haniford IV Martinsville quarterback
1996 Levron Williams Evansville Bosse running back
1997 Rex Grossman Bloomington South quarterback
1998* Rex Grossman Bloomington South quarterback
1999 Steve Sutherland Bloomington South quarterback
2000 Courtney Clency Park Tudor running back
2001 Jake Schiff Evansville Mater Dei quarterback
2002* Clayton Richard McCutcheon quarterback
2003 Ryan Baker Indianapolis Chatard tight end/defensive end
2004 J.B. Paxson Center Grove tight end/defensive end
2005 Luke Schmidt Jasper running back
2006 Matt Ernest Crown Point wide receiver/defensive back
2007* Paul McIntosh Evansville Reitz quaterback
2008* Morgan Newton Carmel quaterback
2009 Kofi Hughes Indianapolis Cathedral quaterback
2010 Matt McIntosh Evansville Reitz quaterback
2011* Gunner Kiel Columbus East quaterback
2012 Sam Shrader Mishawaka quarterback/defensive back
2013 Sammy Mireles Elwood running back
2014* Markell Jones Columbus East running back
2015* Brandon Peters Avon quarterback
2016 Russ Yeast Center Grove running back

* - also named Indianapolis Star Mr. Football.

Contact Us | About Us | Privacy
Copyright © 1996 to 2017 Almanac Sports, LLC