H.S. Football Home History Scores & Schedules Teams Standings Spirit Shop

Indiana High School Mr. Football

In 1992, Pat Aikman of the Indianapolis Star created the Mr. Football award. Every year after the end of the season, voters select a senior who they feel is the outstanding Indiana high school football player for that particular year.

Year Mr. Football School Position
1992 Alex Smith Franklin County - lost 5A sectional final tailback
1993* Bo Barzilauskas Bloomington South - won 5A state title lineman
1994 Josh Martini East Central - won 4A state title tailback
1995* Earl Haniford Martinsville - lost 5A regional quarterback
1996 Israel Thompson Martinsville - lost 5A semi-state tailback
1997 DuJuan Daniels Indianapolis Chatard - won 3A state title tailback
1998* Rex Grossman Bloomington South - won 5A state quarterback
1999 Derrick Ellis Indianapolis Arlington - lost 5A regional running back
2000 Otis Shannon Indianapolis Cathedral - lost 4A second round running back
2001 James Banks Ben Davis - won 5A state title quarterback
2002* Clayton Richard McCutcheon - lost 4A sectional final quarterback
2003 Desmond Tardy Warren Central - won 5A state title quarterback
2004 Jason Werner Roncalli - won 4A state title wide receiver/safety
2005 Dexter Taylor Warren Central - won 5A state title quarterback
2006 Darren Evans Warren Central - won 5A state title running back
2007* Paul McIntosh Evansville Reitz - won 4A state title quarterback
2008* Morgan Newton Carmel - lost 5A state final quaterback
2009 Daniel Wodicka West Lafayette - won 3A state title quaterback
2010 Tre Roberson Lawrence Central - lost 5A state title quaterback
2011* Gunner Kiel Columbus East - lost 4A semi-state quaterback
2012 Jaylon Smith Fort Wayne Luers - won 4A state title linebacker
2013 Terry McLaurin Indianapolis Cathedral - won 5A state title running back/wide receiver
2014* Markell Jones Columbus East - lost 4A semi-state running back
2015* Brandon Peters Avon - lost 6A semi-state quarterback
2016 Hunter Johnson Brownsburg - lost 6A sectional semifinal quarterback

* - also named Gatorade Player of the Year.

Contact Us | About Us | Privacy
Copyright © 1996 to 2017 Almanac Sports, LLC