H.S. Football Home History Scores & Schedules Teams Standings Spirit Shop

The Valparaiso Vidette-Messenger
December 15, 1931

Central of South Bend Chosen as Best Grid Team

Get 'Triumph' Trophy For Stellar Play

INDIANAPOLIS, Dec. 15.—(UP)—Gridmen at Central high school, South Bend, today were chosen by Dick Miller as the outstanding eleven in the state for the 1931 season. The selection carries with it award of the Indianapolis Times "Triumph" trophy, and is recognized by the Indiana High School Athletic association as the official championship team.

Cathedral of Indianapolis was the closest contender, Miller said. The South Bend squad, coached by Elmer Burnham, turned in 11 victories and climaxed the season with a win over Horace Mann, Gary, to clinch the Northern Indiana title. Cathedral, coached by Joseph Dienhart, had nine victories, one a 7-6 decision over Clinton.

Award of the trophy to South Bend was the second time it has been given to any school outside Gary. The first award was to Froebel of Gary, in 1927, Clinton won in 1928. Horace Mann of Gary won it in 1929 and Emerson, also of Gary, earned it in 1930. Consideration of Cathedral was the first time that a Central Indiana team has been a strong contender, Miller said.

Teams to which Miller awarded honorable mention were: Bloomfield, Gerstmeyer of Terre Haute, Clinton, Manual of Indianapolis, Lebanon, Carmel, Marion, Elkhart, Connersville, Froebel and Horace Mann, both of Gary.

The South Bend team defeated Shortridge of Indianapolis, 39-0; Washington of East Chicago, 27-2; Emerson of Gary, 21-0; LaPorte 44-0: Michigan City 39-0; Central of Evansville, 38-0; Mishawaka, 26-7; Riley of South Bend, 12-7; Goshen, 39-13; Elkhart, 31-12; Horace Mann, Gary, 19-6.

Marion, co-winner with Clinton of the Indiana high school conference title, lost early in the year to Peru, but defeated Kokomo, Elwood. Muncie, Logansport, Wabash, Richmond and Greencastle. Marion did not meet Clinton.

Bloomfield lost late in the season to Linton, 6-0, tied Bloomington, 6-6, and won seven other contests. Its string of consecutive victories, continuing from last year, was 15.

Gerstmeyer won the Terre Haute city title for the first time in six years.

Manual of Indianapolis won the public schools championship in the Capitol City. Its only defeat was against Cathedral, Indianapolis.

Lebanon completed the season without a loss, but was tied twice. Lebanon, however, did not meet competition such as that faced by the South Bend team.

Carmel met a snag in Washington of Indianapolis, losing 6-0. Connersville lost to Newcastle. Elkhart was defeated by South Bend.

Horace Mann and Froebel tied for the western division of the Northern conference title and played a tie game between themselves. A toss of a coin gave Horace Mann the right to play South Bend.

Dick Miller Ratings

Other Rankings

Back to Rankings

Contact Us | About Us | Privacy
Copyright © 1996 to 2017 Almanac Sports, LLC