H.S. Football Home History Scores & Schedules Teams Standings Spirit Shop

Hammond Times
December 8, 1936

Horace Mann to Receive State Grid Title Trophy

Miller Thinks Gary Team is Class of Lot

'Could Have Beaten Other Contenders Decisively,' He Says

(Copyright, 1936. by INS.)

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind., Dec. 8 Horace Mann, of Gary, high school football team, champion of the Northern Indiana conference, has been selected by the writer as the most outstanding grid eleven in Hoosierdom in 1936 and awarded the tenth annual trophy "Triumph."

For the fourth time since the first award was made in 1927 the trophy goes to a Gary school. And for the second time in that period Horace Mann takes the coveted award, the Horsemen previously gaining the high recognition in 1929. Froebel won the first annual award in 1927 and Emerson, a third Gary school, took the award in 1930. Other winners have been Clinton, in 1928, 1932 and 1933, Central of South Bend in 1931, Muncie in 1934 and Memorial of Evansville in 1935.

No Perfect Team
The Calumet eleven, coached by Douglas Kerr, was chosen from a group of nine teams, all with blemished records gained in one of the most hectic campaigns in history, but all of them outstanding teams in their sectors, in every sense of the word.

The list included Elkhart, Peru, Jefferson of Lafayette, Sullivan, Garfield of Terre Haute, Memorial of Evansville, New Albany and Lowell. The last four named were also among the outstanding of 1935 and continued their fine play through the season just closed.

In 1927 the Indiana High School Athletic association granted permission to the writer to award annually the trophy to the most outstanding team of the season, so long as it was made clear the IHSAA had nothing to do with the designation.

The trophy, custom-built along modernistic lines, featuring a football player in action, bears the inscription "Presented to Horace Mann High School of Gary, Outstanding Indiana Team 1936. Selected by Dick Miller, International News Service."

The Gary team was the unanimous choice of Northern critics, coaches and scouts, and the writer gained the opinion while officiating at games in every section of the state that had the powerful Gary team met any of the eight outstanding teams in the state in post-season game, the result would have been a decisive victory for the Horsemen.

Elkhart, co-winners of the Eastern division title of the Northern conference along with Michigan City, was disappointed at losing the coin toss that permitted Michigan City to play Horace Mann, Western division champ, for the all-conference title. Elkhart feels confident the score would not have been 40 to 0 as it was against the Imps. The Blazers defeated Michigan City, 14 to 0, but lost to Riley of South Bend, a team that was defeated both by Michigan City and Central of South Bend.

Peru, Central Indiana conference champion, defeated Michigan City, but slipped from the unblemished team class when it played a tie game with Crawfordsville. a team that should have been beaten, to place the Tigers in a position for unchallenged recognition.

Lowell Unbeaten
Jefferson of Lafayette, North Central conference title winner lapsed a time or two and one slip resulted in a tie game with Technical of Indianapolis.

Sullivan, Southern Indiana conference champ, dropped a 12 to 0 decision to Garfield of Terre Haute when victory might have meant top honors for the Golden Arrows. Garfield tied with Memorial of Evansville, and then suffered a 7 to 6 defeat at Oblong, Ill., that cost the Purple Eagles the Wabash Valley championship.

Memorial, winner of the trophy last year, would have been hard to pass up again, had the Tigers emerged victorious over Garfield and Reitz of Evansville, but played tie games with both teams.

 New Albany lost a chance to tie Sullivan for the SIAC title because of a game with Bosse of Evansville, ties in that league counting half game loss in the percentage column. The Bulldogs tied with Male of Louisville, too.

Lowell, little Lowell, while stretching its string of games without defeat to 24 consecutive in three years, played a scoreless tie with Frankfort and did not meet teams the caliber of Horace Mann. Elkhart, etc.

Other Rankings

Back to Rankings

Contact Us | About Us | Privacy
Copyright © 1996 to 2017 Almanac Sports, LLC